

June 29, 2021

Dear Mr. Salveson and Mr. Marrazzo,

We, members of the Philadelphia and Southeast Delegations of the Pennsylvania State House, write in support of the workers of WHYY. We support the content creators' pursuit of a fair collective bargaining agreement and fair wages, predictable and fair work schedules, and to be treated with dignity and respect at their place of work. We hold a WHYY alum among our ranks, and are proud to support collective bargaining, and good, family-sustaining jobs at WHYY and in industries across our region.

We count on WHYY as a lead producer of quality programming across our region, to keep our constituents up to date and informed. We commend the workers at WHYY for producing high-quality news and information that we as well as our constituents count on. We are troubled by a string of recent staff departures, which former employees attributed to low pay. It has been brought to our attention that the deep and serious wage inequity has manifested itself in competitive salaries for executives, but low salaries for both new and long-term employees. We watched content creators at WHYY vote overwhelmingly in favor of their union in October 2019. We are concerned that a year and a half later, with families to support and bills to pay, these same WHYY workers have not had their call met for the basic standards all workers deserve: fair wages and predictable, fair work schedules.

We urge the Board and leadership of WHYY to agree promptly to a contract that will address the issues we have outlined, and will answer the call of the workers whose work has established WHYY's name and reputation.

Respectfully,

Rep. Jason Dawkins Philadelphia Delegation Chair

179th Legislative District

Rep. Jen O'Mara Southeast Delegation Chair

Jinnifo O'Mara

165th Legislative District

Rep. Elizabeth Fiedler

Philadelphia Delegation Secretary

184th Legislative District

Philadelphia House Delegation Members:

Rep. Amen Brown, 190th Legislative District

Rep. Morgan Cephas, 192nd Legislative District

Rep. Rep. Joe Hohenstein, 177th Legislative District

Rep. Rick Krajewski, 188th Legislative District

Rep. Ed Neilson, 174th Legislative District

Rep. Regina Young, 185th Legislative District

Southeast Delegation Members:

Rep. Brian Kirkland, 159th Legislative District

Rep. Melissa Shusterman, 157th Legislative District

Rep. Steve Malagari, 53rd Legislative District

Rep. Mark Rozzi, 126th Legislative District

Rep. Tina Davis, 141st Legislative District

Rep. Daniele Friel Otten, 155th Legislative District

Rep. Mike Zabel, 163rd Legislative District

Rep. Ben Sanchez, 153rd Legislative District

Rep. Kristine C. Howard, 167th Legislative District

Rep. Dan Williams, 74th Legislative District

Rep Leanne Krueger, 161st Legislative District