FRANK BURNS, MEMBER 72ND LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

DISTRICT OFFICES: 535 FAIRFIELD AVE. JOHNSTOWN, PA 15906 (814) 536-8400 FAX: (814) 533-2368 119 S, CENTER ST. EBENSBURG, PA 15931 (814) 472-8021 FAX: (814) 472-1965



HARRISBURG OFFICE: 332 MAIN CAPITOL P.O. BOX 202072 HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA 17120-2072 (717) 772-8056 FAX: (717) 772-9965

COMMITTEES

PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE, CHAIRMAN NORTHWEST DELEGATION

House of Representatives commonwealth of pennsylvania harrisburg

July 31, 2023

Charles Arnone, Chairman Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners PO Box 419 Johnstown, PA 15907

RE: Request for the JHA to approve a resolution committing to downsizing and not building new units elsewhere in Cambria County

Dear Chairman Arnone:

On behalf of a concerned Cambria County public, I am writing to make a simple request that the Johnstown Housing Authority board of commissioners approve a resolution guaranteeing any "transformation" of its public housing **WILL** include downsizing from 1,900 units -- and that any new units **WILL NOT** be built elsewhere in Cambria County.

You – along with fellow commissioners David Vitovich, Angela Reed, Darlette Haselrig and John Slezak – are the ones directly responsible for operating the JHA and charting its course.

You as a five-member board – not executive director Mike Alberts, not HUD, not Johnstown city officials and certainly not consultant Matt Ward – are in charge of public housing in Cambria County.

You set policy and approve all contracts. You have the power to say what will and will not happen under any JHA transformation plan – including the power to decide if there will be any transformation plan at all.

It's time for you, as a board, to take a stand and let the public know what direction you intend to take this \$50 million initiative should you get that HUD money. You can easily do that – and let the public and HUD know your intentions – by passing an official resolution stating the parameters of any transformation.

Sincerely,

fruch Buno

Frank Burns State Representative 72nd Legislative District

Cc: David Vitovich, Vice Chairman, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners Angela Reed, Secretary/Treasurer, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners Darlette Haselrig, Member, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners John Slezak, Member, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners Michael P. Alberts, Executive Director, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners June Kohan, Deputy Executive Director, Johnstown Housing Authority Board of Commissioners